Lee Cagle's Blue Smoke Risin' on the Mountain -- Dulcimer News and Information, Memphis, Tennessee

Home | Dulcimer Lessons | Audio and Tab | STORE | Bio/Workshops/Contact Lee | Photo Gallery | Dulcimer and Folk History | Recommended Links | MDG, Inc.

Photos from MDG&FF 2010

Rick Thum & Bob Hastings

The 2010 Memphis Dulcimer Gathering & Folk Festival was held on September 25 & 26 at Second Baptist Church.  As most of you know, the festival was held in memory of Dr. Bob Hastings.  In 2006, Bob was the winner of the Rick Thum hammered dulcimer.  All who knew Bob loved him.  He was one of the most loving and lovable people we ever knew.  Bob attended every festival.  Even after struggling with heart problems for several months, Bob, Judy and Laney attended
the finale concert for the 2009 MDG&FF.  Just four days later,
Bob passed away.  He will be sorely missed. 
Each year, we begin the finale concert with a quiet blessing.  Below is the 2010 blessing from To Bless the Space Between Us by John O’Donohue.  Some portions of the original were omitted, and the underlined portion was added by me.
Though we need to weep your loss,
You dwell in that safe place in our hearts
Where no storm or night or pain can reach you.
The sound of your voice
Found for us
A new music
That brightened everything.
Though your days here were brief,
Your spirit was alive, awake, complete.
Now you dwell inside the rhythm of breath,
As close to us as we are to ourselves.
Let us not look for you only in memory,
where we would grow lonely without you.
You would want us to find you in presence,
Beside us when beauty brightens,
When kindness glows
And music echoes eternal tones.
May you continue to inspire us:
To enter each day with a generous heart.
To serve the call of courage and love
To fill our world with music and kindness
Until we meet again in our eternal home.

Click here to view the 2010 festival page and schedules.


Charles Eddlemon wins Jake's Cabin HD

Dan Landrum & Rick Thum in concert

Glenda Montgomery wins McSpadden MD

Write to Lee

All content © 2000-2016 C. Lee Cagle unless otherwise indicated.